Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an '08 with 34.2K miles. Sent it to the dealer with a few minor issues before the warranty expires. One was an oil leak I could not realy identify on my ramps. They gave me a loaner Legacy (thank you) and they have had the beca 2 days now "trying" to re seal the timing chain cover that is leaking. Some kind of sealant they use needs to have a curing agent added, then allowed to set up. They just told me they will need another day or 2 to be sure it's sealed OK.
Just curious if anyone else has seen this? I'm OK with it while I have a loaner, and its a warranty job. I'm a DIY mechanic and I am very hady doing this kind of job, but don't like the down time if I have to do it again at some point.
Cheers, john.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Update.
Finally got the Tribeca back last Friday. They had to wait for control arm bushings. Oil leak fixed. Still has a squeek from the from end when driving over uneven road etc. I suspect the sway bar bushing that they changed were not lubricated with the wax that the manual shows. I will just do it myself. Dealer takes too long.

·
Registered
12 Posts
timing cover leak

i am a subaru tech i have resealed many timing covers on 3.0 and 3.6 the sealer we use is fuji bond and doesnt require any additives and doesnt need curing time i reseal them and start the engine as soon as its reassembled the best part is with the 3.6 they eliminated the rear timing cover and intigrated it into the block and heads one less place for a leak the job only pays a couple of hours under warranty i think 1.9 hours if my memory serves me correctly and can be done in that time should no more than one day turn around for sure

·
Registered
180 Posts
We have about 5 minor oil leaks on our '07. Fixed two under warranty and are now.20k outside of warranty and have a bunch that need to be addressed.

·
Registered
12 Posts
oil leaks