Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
703 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Still alive... both myself and my B9. But I graduated to a 2020 Ascent last summer and the B9 has become the daily driver for our au pair, but there just hasn't been any daily driving during the pandemic, i.e. nothing to diagnose, fix, etc.... UNTIL NOW.

I have to say, I'm pretty proud of this one.

Problem: Single cylinder misfire

DTC: P0301

Troubleshooting Sequence:
#1 - Cleaned MAF sensor & checked coil pack connector tightness on all cylinders. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#2 - Swapped 1 and 2 coil packs. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#3 - Checked gap and swapped 1 and 3 spark plugs. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#4 - Replaced spark plugs. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#5 - Tested output signal to Cyl 1 at the engine harness (behind cylinder 5) from ECM D8 in ON (no-start) condition. +9.47 VDC, OK.
#6 - Tested resistance between ECM D8 and fuel injector (FI) 1. <0.2 ohm, OK.
#7 - Checked FI 1 harness for short to ground on pin 1. Open circuit, OK.
#8 - Checked output signal to all FI's at the FI connector. All tested +9.52 (+/- 0.5) VDC, OK.
#9 - Checked resistance across all FI connections. All tested 14.2 (+/- .1) ohms, OK.
#10 - Inspected/cleaned FI's 1, 3, 5 (also replaced o-rings) & swapped fuel injectors 1 and 5. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#11 - Listened to FI's 1, 3 and 5 using the "screwdriver trick" (tip on the injector, ear on the handle, listen for clicking). Normal pulse on FI's 2-6, but no pulse on FI 1.
#12 - Checked for rodent damage to wires with inspection camera. No visible damage.
#13 - Removed, inspected, cleaned and replaced Bank 1 oil flow control solenoid. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#14 - Removed, inspected, cleaned and replaced Bank 1 Camshaft Position Sensor. Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.
#15 - Checked connection on Crankshaft Position Sensor and gave sensor a few "technical taps." Still misfiring only in Cyl 1.