Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Attached below are the pictures of my 07B9 alternator. All of the assembly bolts (the ones that were used to put AC compressor together) are completely rusted on our brand new car. According to the pictures of other people engine compartments that I saw here and elsewhere, this does not appear to be a defect that is limited to this particular vehicle. The part in question is marked Denso, which AFAIK used to be a reputable parts manufacturer. I can only surmise that whatever chinese forced labor camp that the assembly was outsourced to has used a lower grade of bolts than stainless. Has anyone here brought this to Subaru's attention and if so, what was the response?

texan

Standard Disclamer
Not being a mechanical engineer I would not attempt to predict the longevity of the stressed mechanical piece that held together with rust. I would simply state that this is the first car in my posession (and I've owned a few) that has this particular "feature"

Attachments

·
Registered
160 Posts
I would drop the reference to labor camp and then forward this to SOA. As you know, I asked my dealer about this and dealer's response was "we see it alot on new Subarus". Take it for whatever it is worth. They sprayed bolt heads on mine B9 with some rust preventing spray as good will action.

If you actually look on the side of the compressor, you'll find out that bolts are not the only rusted part on the AC. There is some sort of metal ring/plate/whatever you want to call it between front and middle part of the AC that is also rusted bad (at least on my B9).

Picture below illustrates the location, it's under plastic part on top.

Attachments

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
SubOperator said:
There is some sort of metal ring/plate/whatever you want to call it between front and middle part of the AC that is also rusted bad (at least on my B9).