Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Registered
Joined
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think my Beca is dead :-(
had the dreaded torque converter problems, got one, had it put in - and eversince she won't do what she's supposed to. Now mind you, I am in Central America and there is no Sub dealer/mechanic or anything close to it anywhere near.
The mechanic has been trouble shooting for two months now, replaced sensors and even wiring harness to no avail. It doesn't shift. Is there any computer reset that needs to be done or something?
Other than that the mechanic says he's at the end and I guess she's ready to be scrapped 馃槬
 

V6er Version 2
Facelift (EZ36D, 5EAT TG5D), MY2008, 7seat Limited (no DVD, no NAVI)
Joined
370 Posts
are you sure you put it the right torque converter?
if it doesn't shift - you should have like errors or something - can you read those?
 

Registered
Joined
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
got the TC directly from Subaru. but yeah I really don't have hope at this point. When they took the tranny out for the swap they said all the connectors and everything is so briddle, many things just crumbled in their hands - hence the new wiring harness which was a cheering 350 bucks on top of it all. First it would shift hard and eradically, code said turbine speed sensor, got that replaced, then it was the atf heat sensor, then the first one went out again, then came the new harness and now it doesn't read anything and doesnt shift.
Anyway, I'm actually just here to cry a littlebit and probably say bye to this cool community - cause that'll be the last Tribeca I will ever touch...
cheers!
 

V6er Version 2
Facelift (EZ36D, 5EAT TG5D), MY2008, 7seat Limited (no DVD, no NAVI)
Joined
370 Posts
man... to me it sounds like something is wrong with that wiring harness. may be, by accident, you got one from TG5D (facelift) transmission, not your TG5C??? they differ in hardware pretty significantly.
 

V6er Version 2
Facelift (EZ36D, 5EAT TG5D), MY2008, 7seat Limited (no DVD, no NAVI)
Joined
370 Posts
unfortunately, this seems to be right one. the question, though, is - was it even working when you got it? may be it was DOA?

what kind of diagnostic adapters/cables/software do you have accessible?
 

Registered
Joined
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanks for hanging in there with me lol well too bad, I had a few hours of hope. A DOA harness doesn't sound probable right? - well I am 60 miles away from the mechanic and don't know what kinda tools he is using. But like I said he just about had it by now too hahaha and didn't even write down all the hours of the past weeks he spent on it trying to figure out whats wrong. if I ask him to take the harness out again he will probably voodoo me (as I understand the tranny and the valve body have to come out to get to it)
He thinks TCM or just a whole replacement tranny - which there are maybe 5 Tribecas in the country and shipping a tranny would cost more than the darn thing itself.
Additionally now the brake master cylinder developed a leak and messed up the brake booster. It seems like it will never end....
:-( :-( :-(
 

V6er Version 2
Facelift (EZ36D, 5EAT TG5D), MY2008, 7seat Limited (no DVD, no NAVI)
Joined
370 Posts
no. to test the harness - you need to take off pan and it is on valve body.
and don't need to take out tranny itself.

if you still have older one - that would make it real simple job with multimeter or testlight.

what about second question? do you have tactrix cable, or kkl cable or, at least, elm327 clone?
 

Registered
Joined
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
just talked to a tranny specialist, he said it mostlikely just needs a computer flash
I don't know which code reader the mechanic is using...
 

V6er Version 2
Facelift (EZ36D, 5EAT TG5D), MY2008, 7seat Limited (no DVD, no NAVI)
Joined
370 Posts
regarding flashing - i asked you already couple of times - DO YOU HAVE TACTRIX CABLE, KKL CABLE?
with those - you can reset transmission adaptations and adapt it yourself.
or you can bring the car to dealership.
(adaptations issues make transmission work unpleasent, not that it does not shift at all).

if he means that TCM needs to "rewrite" it's software (like it was erased and now there is none to work and command transmission)... first time I hear about it.
 

Registered
Joined
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
no I don't have any of those cables, I don't even know what that is. Could I acquire one and try on my own if I have really no idea what I'm doin lol? maybe my mechanic should get one and get into that :-D
next dealership is 400miles away in a different country :-( - hardly an option
My friend with the transmission shop says they run into that all the time, they have a guy on call who flashes their trannies for like 120bucks
 

V6er Version 2
Facelift (EZ36D, 5EAT TG5D), MY2008, 7seat Limited (no DVD, no NAVI)
Joined
370 Posts
Tactrix cable is around 200bucks (you can buy cheap clones on aliexpress, but they have a tendency to die). KKL cable is somewhere around 20-30bucks.
I would say - it is good thing to have ;)
you need FreeSSM software and FSM for your car. have you had any experience with those?
of course, there is vxdiag (but that is more like 300bucks)

about flashing - again - is it "resetting adaptations" (that you can do yourself) or really flash???
to me - that "guy on a call" sounds very "interesting"... transmission shop erases thoses TCMs ("all the time") and they have perfect solution right away... but I might be oversensitive :D
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top