Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
driving along at about 80 mph i ran over a pallet in the road and broke the top of the right rear strut on my wifes 2008 Tribeca.

The car is still driving, makes an ugly banging noise when you go over bumps.

I ordered a single strut from RockAuto and it arrived today.

I am a decent amateur mechaninc, i have decent tools and a garage but i need to start and finish this job in one sitting.

Any advice would be appreciated

thanks

dave

·
Registered
837 Posts
Not hard at all, two bolts on the top and loosen the rear sway bar link on the lower control arm and then remove the shock bolt, depending on the mileage you may want to consider changing the mount as well.

Assuming you know how to go about changing the shock itself ( compressing the spring, and taking the assembly apart, then rebuilding it with the new shock) the whole job is probably a 2 hour max job. And that is being generous.

·
Registered
746 Posts
The bottom end of the strut is bolted to a sleeve inside a rubber bushing, so the bolt needs to be tightened with suspension at normal ride height.

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
Change both sides at the same time, otherwise you will have an unstable car.

Get a spring compressor. Cheap at harbor freight or borrow from autozone tool loan.

Hardest parts are:
1) loosening the bolt at bottom of strut. It's large, massive torque. I used a cheater bar and a jack on the end to get it loose
2) The endlinks get rusted and you strip the allen socket in it. You will be able to get it out, but not back on. Consider getting spares on hand to replace and return if you don't need them.
3) lining up the strut to put the bolt in step 1 back on. I used a jack under the strut to push it in place.

This thread pretty much tells you all you need to know: https://www.subaruoutback.org/forums/99-do-yourself-illustrated-guides/16297-rear-shock-replacement-2000-outback-wagon.html