Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a 2006 Subaru Tribeca with 168K miles and just last week a "er bb" has shown up everytime we start the car and drive it. It is displayed just underneath the MPH gauge and above the actual mileage of the vehicle. No other lights come on like a check engine light etc... Tribeca has been running great no problems, brakes are acting just fine etc.... I have used google and other forums with this code and it seems as if you can get 5 different answers to this so called problem that apparently Subaru doesn't have an exact pin point gauge on what the actual problem is to this code. I have heard brake booster, IBU, vacuum line etc... I have not taken into Subaru yet just for fear of cost and them not actually fixing and or finding out what the actual problem is. I am a mechanic on the side and can do just about anything yet like I've said before nothing else has been a problem with the vehicle so not too worried yet. Any info would be great!
Thanks,
Brian

·
Registered
746 Posts
This code is listed as "Vacuum pump system malfunction" in the table found in the FSM (Combination Meter section) for my '06 model.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
avk said:
This code is listed as "Vacuum pump system malfunction" in the table found in the FSM (Combination Meter section) for my '06 model.
I guess my alternative question is what is necessarily wrong then? What if there are no other problems, no other lights that come on (like a check engine), and the vehicle is functioning perfectly except that code coming up. My vehicle has 168K miles on it and I really don't want to sink any money into it. I feel as if the vehicle is running fine why bother cause its more then likely a sensor malfunctioning. If it truly is a vacuum pump malfunction I would think something major would be going on. Peoples thoughts if any please.......or if anyone else has experienced this exact issue.