Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today after moving in the driveway, I noted some fluids on the snow that are yellow. Not quite the yellow green as antifreeze. It was in the rear diff area.

I'm new to Subaru's, and assume this isn't good.

'06 7p Ltd, 37k

·
Registered
2 Posts
Same thing here. Just moved my B9T and found yellow snow. Looks like a leak from the rear axle area. Anybody ever see this other than ne0031?

·
Registered
32 Posts
I've had the same thing happen. I have an 06 Tribeca and I noticed it more when the car was newer. Haven't seen it as much the past couple winters, but it was also yellow/gold color and I am convinced it's a leak since it happened multiple times, but haven't been able to pinpoint it. Also, I never notice anything in dry/non-snow conditions.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I called the closest dealership to my location and the Tech informed me that there were no fluids of that color in the vehicle. After some investigating, I am fairly certain there is no leak.

1. The stuff that was dripping was coming off of the exhaust pipe under the car and around the transmission.

2. This was the first time I had driven in snow deeper than the underside of the vehicle.

3. There was still snow up under the vehicle which was melting as the car warmed up.

4. I took her for a spin and let the snow melt off.

5. After driving around for a bit, the snow melted off and there were no drips.

6. After several days driving around town and parking on a packed snow driveway I did not see any more leaks.

7. Since I had never driven in snow that was higher than the footwell before and there wasn't anything dripping before or since, I concluded there wasn't a leak and whatever caused this was from the melting snow rinsing something off of the underside of the vehicle.

8. I was bummed because it was a powder day and it delayed my departure for the mountain.