Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2008 base tribeca, i am missing my subwoofer out of the 2013 limited, I picked up the 2008 to daily drive. my question is the 2008 has the new body style but the interior seems to have the old style b9 panels, the b9 tribeca has an optional subwoofer that goes in the back cubby as I said it appears the b9 to have the same interior panels as mine so would the b9 subwoofer work, what size is the sub and where is the amplifier located for the sub if it is amplified, lol one more question, is it pre wired for the sub.......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
837 Posts
I am fairly certain the sub that is placed in the rear of the cargo hold is not amplified and is just a woofer of some odd size. We have a 2007 limited with the 9 speaker audio system and it has that "sub" way in the back that is completely useless. I believe you can get some under seat subs if you don't have navigation and that would help with the low response.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
601 Posts
I have that rear sub in my '08. It is next to useless as its only amplified by the radio and has very low output. I bought an ultra cheap Boss 75W RMS mono amp that I'm going to try to drive it with an see if its worth anything with some proper power.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i grabbed one from the wrecking yard with plans to switch it out with a more substantial 6.5" sub and and amplifier as you said. but i may just go with a compact 8 " one and not worry about tearing the cargo space apart to get such a small sub in
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
ok so follow up I have the 6 speaker stereo, is mine going to have the factory wiring for the cargo area sub there waiting to be used , anyone have experience on this
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
ok so follow up I have the 6 speaker stereo, is mine going to have the factory wiring for the cargo area sub there waiting to be used , anyone have experience on this
In the base model, you don't have the wires to hook up the subwoofer. Just bought one and I'm trying to figure out how to....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
In the base model, you don't have the wires to hook up the subwoofer. Just bought one and I'm trying to figure out how to....
I was able to fit a subwoofer from a Limited, changed the plastic panel as well, route the wires under the front seat. I had at work sitting around a Clarion APX1300. Got my 2 channel signal from a Scosche LOC 90, with speaker level signal from the radio plug ( rear left+rear right). I'm using it somehow at minimum and it pushes. Definitely worth the pain, but now I'm thinking adding a more powerful sub and some sound deadening.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
75 Posts
Not an expert on this, and haven't tried it yet because I read there was something wierd about the signal coming out of our radio, like its balanced or something?... I have the useless rear sub as well and was wondering about tapping into those wires for a hi-Z input I have on an amp and putting a bigger sub I have sitting around in the back of the vehicle. Will this work for some quick dirty base or do I need some sort of external converter like you used? Will the built in line-in on the amp be enough (it has Hi-Z speaker wire inputs as well as low-Z RCA inputs?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
s
Not an expert on this, and haven't tried it yet because I read there was something wierd about the signal coming out of our radio, like its balanced or something?... I have the useless rear sub as well and was wondering about tapping into those wires for a hi-Z input I have on an amp and putting a bigger sub I have sitting around in the back of the vehicle. Will this work for some quick dirty base or do I need some sort of external converter like you used? Will the built in line-in on the amp be enough (it has Hi-Z speaker wire inputs as well as low-Z RCA inputs?
Yes, will work. You have speaker level input on your amp, you tap 2 channels and you don't need a line converter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
75 Posts
I understand what a line converter does, and that the amp has one built in, its more a question about the balanced signal(?) coming from the radio, or some other weird thing that the radio does when sending the signal out to the speakers.... Maybe this won't be a concern if I use the subwoofer speaker wires? or are they amplified other then coming out of the radio? Mine is a 2009 without the premium audio.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top