Subaru B9 Trifecta SUV Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this the Subaru B9 Tribeca experience. I bought a previously owned 2006 B9 Tribeca with 144K miles about a month ago. I started having starting problems about a week after I bought it. I found that the positive battery connector was corroded, and the battery had a bad cell. I replaced them both and the B9 worked fine for a week and half after that. I even took it on a long drive for 500 miles with no problems. But a few days later I got a steady check engine light, the traction sway off light was on steady and the cruise control light was blinking. It threw a P0028 code. After one day, the problem lights cleared out and everything seemed normal. The next morning the car would not start. I turned the key and nothing happened. It did not crank, the lights dimmed a little bit, but nothing else. I found with the car door open and the hood open that there was a very quiet clicking noise coming from the engine compartment.

I tested the battery, 12.6 Volts on the DVM and even took it to AutoZone for testing. It was fine. I tested all the fuses in the passenger compartment and in the engine compartment. They all tested good. I removed the starter. I reattached the battery terminals and had 12.6 volts at the starter connection and when the ignition was turned to Start I had 12+ volts at the solenoid. Even with no starter attached, there was still that soft clicking noise when the ignition was turned to start. I couldn’t isolate it in the engine compartment. I had the starter tested under load at 2 different parts stores and it worked fine.

So, in short, the battery and starter are working. I had 12 volts to the starter and 12 volts to the solenoid, so the ignition switch seems to be working. What am I missing? It seems that I have everything necessary for the engine to crank, but it is not turning over. Any thoughts on what else could affect it cranking?