2006 Tribeca low miles - SB9T.com
SB9T.com

Go Back   SB9T.com > Tribeca Owners' Lounge > FAQ/Pre-purchase Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2015, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 2006 Tribeca low miles

Greetings SB9T

I'm a newbie here, and possibly new to Suburu. Wife and I are looking for a family friendly vehicle, and I've come across what I believe to be a decent deal. A local dealer is selling a 2006 Tribeca with 65,000 miles for $12988. Not a Subaru dealer, but a family run business that sell cars which they likely buy from auction. Asking price is fairly close to KBB which shows fair market value closer to 11900. The vehicle has a clean car fax report showing one owner who had it serviced regularly at the dealership.

Anyway, some research on the boards here show that head gaskets are a common problem with these vehicles, and Subaru in general. So that is a bit of a concern for me. In addition, I've found that the car should run on premium fuel, and gets below average MPG by today's standards.

Just wondering if there are any other major areas of concern that I should be aware of? What are your overall thoughts about the Tribeca? I'm also considering a 2007 Highlander with 31k miles - again a low mileage car with asking price of 17,500.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.
relli1130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2015, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator Elite

I wouldn't say they're as common as you'd see in the EJ25D and the EJ251 (spanning 96-08ish in other vehicles). Those problems were widespread, especially with the EJ25D, where it was more of a matter of when, not if.